Treatment of Subclinical Hyperthyroidism

The recruitment status of this study is unknown because the information has not been verified recently.
Verified November 2007 by University Hospital, Strasbourg, France.
Recruitment status was  Recruiting
Sponsor:
Information provided by (Responsible Party):
University Hospital, Strasbourg, France
ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier:
NCT00213720
First received: September 13, 2005
Last updated: April 19, 2012
Last verified: November 2007
  Purpose

Objective: To determine if the treatment of subclinical hyperthyroidism will reduce the rate of atrial fibrillation, the main complication of this condition.


Condition Phase
Subclinical Hyperthyroidism
Atrial Fibrillation
Phase 4

Study Type: Observational
Study Design: Observational Model: Cohort
Time Perspective: Prospective
Official Title: Place de l'Iode RadioActif Dans l'HyperThyroïdiE Sub-clinique (PIRHATES)/ Evaluation of the Interest of Subclinical Hyperthyroidism Treatment

Resource links provided by NLM:


Further study details as provided by University Hospital, Strasbourg, France:

Biospecimen Retention:   Samples Without DNA

serum


Estimated Enrollment: 300
Study Start Date: August 2005
Detailed Description:

Randomized open-labelled multicentre study comparing radioiodine vs medical supervision without treatment

  Eligibility

Ages Eligible for Study:   50 Years and older
Genders Eligible for Study:   Both
Accepts Healthy Volunteers:   No
Sampling Method:   Probability Sample
Study Population

patients referred to tertiary hospitals for advice on thyroïd disease

Criteria

Inclusion Criteria:

  • Men and women aged 50 and greater
  • Isolated decreased thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) with normal FT4 and FT3 levels

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Iodide overload
  • Non sinusal heart rhythm
  • Severe heart disease
  Contacts and Locations
Please refer to this study by its ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT00213720

Contacts
Contact: Bernard Goichot, MD 333 88 12 75 93 bernard.goichot@chru-strasbourg.fr

Locations
France
Patrick Roger Recruiting
Bordeaux, France
Contact: Patrick Roger, MD    335 57 65 64 33    patrick.roger@chu-bordeaux.fr   
Philippe Thiéblot Not yet recruiting
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Contact: Philippe Thiéblot, MD    334 73 75 15 33    pthieblot@chu-clermontferrand.fr   
Jean-Marcel Brun Not yet recruiting
Dijon, France
Contact: Jean-Marcel Brun    333 80 29 34 53    jean-marcel.brun@chu-dijon.fr   
Jean-Louis Wemeau Recruiting
Lille, France
Contact: Jean-Louis Wemeau, MD    333 20 44 41 18    jl-wemeau@chru-lille.fr   
Marie-Pierre Teissier Recruiting
Limoges, France
Contact: Marie-Pierre Teissier, MD    335 55 05 68 51    marie-pierre.teissier@chu-limoges.fr   
Jacques Orgiazzi Recruiting
Lyon, France
Contact: Jacques Orgiazzi, MD    334 78 86 14 88    jacques.orgiazzi@chu-lyon.fr   
Bernard Conte-Delvox Not yet recruiting
Marseille, France
Contact: Bernard Conte-Delvox, MD    334 91 38 65 97    bernard.conte-delvox@ap-hm.fr   
CH de Montbrison Recruiting
Montbrison, France, 42605
Contact: Luc Millot, MD    0033477967853    l.millot@ch-montbrison.fr   
Principal Investigator: Luc Millot, MD         
Jacques Bringer Not yet recruiting
Montpellier, France
Contact: Jacques Bringer    334 67 33 83 82    j-bringer@chu-montpellier.fr   
Marc Klein Recruiting
Nancy, France
Contact: Marc Klein    333 83 15 34 31    m.klein@chu-nancy.fr   
Michel Rodier Recruiting
Nimes, France
Contact: Michel Rodier, MD    334 66 68 33 21    michel.rodier@chu-nimes.fr   
Laurence Leenhardt Recruiting
Paris, France
Contact: Laurence Leenhardt, MD    331 42 17 62 81    laurence.leenhardt@psl.ap-hop-paris.fr   
Richard Marechaud Recruiting
Poitiers, France
Contact: Richard Marechaud    335 49 44 43 80    r.marechaud@chu-poitiers.fr   
Brigitte Delemer Recruiting
Reims, France
Contact: Brigitte Delemer, MD    333 26 78 75 33 / 79 42    brigitte.delemer@wanadoo.fr   
Claire Schvartz Recruiting
Reims, France
Contact: Claire Schvartz, MD    333 26 50 43 21    claire.schvartz@reims.fnclcc.fr   
Sub-Investigator: Béatrice Maes, MD         
Sub-Investigator: Jean-Marie Pochart, MD         
Didier Maugendre Not yet recruiting
Rennes, France
Contact: Didier Maugendre, MD    332 99 26 71 42    didier.maugendre@chu-rennes.fr   
Jean-Marc Kuhn Recruiting
Rouen, France
Contact: Jean-Marc Kuhn, MD    332 32 88 90 82    jean-marc.kuhn@chu-rouen.fr   
Bruno Estour Recruiting
Saint-Etienne, France
Contact: Bruno Estour, MD    334 77 12 77 27    bruno.estour@chu-st-etienne.fr   
Sub-Investigator: Luc Millot, MD         
Centre Paul Strauss Recruiting
Strasbourg, France, 67000
Contact: Olivier Schneegans, MD    0033388252428    oschneegans@strasbourg.fnclcc.fr   
Principal Investigator: Olivier Schneegans, MD         
Hopitaux Universitaires de Strasbourg Recruiting
Strasbourg, France
Contact: Bernard Goichot, MD    333 88 12 75 93    bernard.goichot@chru-strasbourg.fr   
Sub-Investigator: Jean-Louis Schlienger, MD         
Sub-Investigator: Fabienne Grunenberger, MD         
Sub-Investigator: Alain Pradignac, MD         
Sub-Investigator: Stephane Vinzio, MD         
Philippe Caron Recruiting
Toulouse, France
Contact: Philippe Caron         
Pierre Lecomte Recruiting
Tours, France
Contact: Pierre Lecomte, MD    332 47 47 87.03    lecomte@med.univ-tours.fr   
Sponsors and Collaborators
University Hospital, Strasbourg, France
Investigators
Principal Investigator: Bernard Goichot, MD Hopitaux Universitaires de Strasbourg
  More Information

No publications provided

Responsible Party: University Hospital, Strasbourg, France
ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT00213720     History of Changes
Other Study ID Numbers: 3463
Study First Received: September 13, 2005
Last Updated: April 19, 2012
Health Authority: France: Afssaps - Agence française de sécurité sanitaire des produits de santé (Saint-Denis)

Keywords provided by University Hospital, Strasbourg, France:
Hyperthyroidism
atrial fibrillation
quality of life
radioiodine treatment

Additional relevant MeSH terms:
Atrial Fibrillation
Hyperthyroidism
Arrhythmias, Cardiac
Heart Diseases
Cardiovascular Diseases
Pathologic Processes
Thyroid Diseases
Endocrine System Diseases

ClinicalTrials.gov processed this record on April 21, 2014